Douma Massacre Anniversary: War Criminals Belong in Jail, Not Power


[16 August 2017] – Syrian civil society commemorate the victims of the Douma massacre on its second anniversary, urging the international community to support Syrians in their demand for a political transition to be a key component of any peace process. The Douma massacre—one of the deadliest in the history of the conflict—left more than 100 civilians dead and hundreds wounded when the regime attacked the city’s main market with repeated aerial strikes. ​

“The massacre is remembered of one of the most horrific and deliberate attacks on civilians throughout the conflict. By striking a market, at the exact moment that it was crowded with families buying vegetables and bread, the Syrian regime ensured it inflicted as many civilian casualties as possible,” Husam Alkatlaby, Executive Director of the Violations Documentation Center said.

“Unfortunately, the Douma massacre did not serve as a wake-up call to the international community, and tens of thousands of civilians have been unlawfully killed by the regime since. We hoped that we would never again have to meet our commemoration of the Douma massacre with a plea to stop the war”.
 


Mazen Darwish, President of the Syrian Center for Media and Freedom of Expression states, “Each time we reach a new sombre anniversary, it is a reminder that it is inconceivable for the Syrian people to accept a political solution that does not bring to justice war criminals responsible for the Douma massacre and other indiscriminate attacks against civilians across Syria. And regardless of the deals made by the international community, any political settlement will not be able to continue unless it meets the demands of the Syrian people to move to a state of citizenship and law based on dignity, freedom and justice”.

Vast numbers of Syrian civil society organizations have made very clear – in this letter to UN Special Envoy de Mistura – that any attempt to take political transition off the negotiating table will not be accepted.

Photos: Firas Abdullah

Print Friendly

مجزرة دوما: مجرمو الحرب مكانهم في السجن، لا في السلطة

 

[16 آب 2017] ـ يحيي المجتمع المدني السوري الذكرى السنوية الثانية لضحايا مجزرة دوما 16 آب 2015، والتي تعتبر واحدة من أكثر المجازر دمويةً خلال سنوات النزاع، حيث أدت إلى مقتل أكثر من 100 مدني، وإصابة المئات نتيجة غارات جوية شنها طيران النظام على السوق الرئيسية للمدينة.

يقول حسام القطلبي، المدير التنفيذي لـمركز توثيق الانتهاكات “سنبقى نتذكر هذه المجزرة التي تعد إحدى أعنف الهجمات المتعمدة على المدنيين خلال الحرب. من خلال ضرب السوق، في وقت يزدحم فيه بالعائلات التي تشتري الخضروات والخبز، ضمن النظام السوري وقوع أكبر عدد ممكن من الضحايا المدنيين.“. 
وأضاف “لسوء الحظ، لم تتمكن مجزرة دوما من إيقاظ للمجتمع الدولي، فقتل النظام عشرات الالاف من المدنيين بشكل غير مشروع منذ ذلك الحين. كنا نأمل ألا نضطر مرة أخرى إلى إحياء ذكرى مجزرة دوما بإصدار نداءات لوقف الحرب”.

 وقال مازن درويش، رئيس المركز السوري للإعلام وحرية التعبير“مع كل ذكرى قاتمة جديدة، نذكّر بأنه لا يمكن تصور قبول الشعب السوري لأي حل سياسي لا يقدم المجرمين المسؤولين عن مجزرة دوما وغيرها من الهجمات العشوائية ضد المدنيين في جميع أنحاء سوريا إلى العدالة. وبغض النظر عن الصفقات التي يقوم بها المجتمع الدولي، فإن أي تسوية سياسية لن تتمكن من الاستمرار ما لم تلبي مطالب الشعب السوري في الانتقال إلى دولة المواطنة والقانون القائمة على الكرامة والحرية والعدالة”
وقد أوضحت أعداد كبيرة من منظمات المجتمع المدني السورية في الرسالة التي وجهتها إلى المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة دي ميستورا، أن أي محاولة لسحب عملية الانتقال السياسي عن طاولة المفاوضات لن تكون مقبولة.

 

الصور: فراس عبدالله

Print Friendly