30 August 2017 – International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances: Syria – Justice for the thousands of victims of enforced disappearances

We, the undersigned civil society organisations, commemorate the victims of enforced disappearances in Syria and support their families, urging the international community to support their demand to ensure justice, truth and reparation and the immediate release of all those enforcedly held in secret detention. As the world marks today the International Day of Victims of Enforced Disappearances, our organisations condemn the continued and systematic use of enforced disappearance which amounts to a crime against humanity committed by the Syrian government. To silence its critics and instil fear among communities, the Syrian government adopted this practice towards its civilians and deployed it systematically after the start of the peaceful protests in 2011.  We also call upon all armed groups to the conflict to promptly release all those held disappeared and disclose their fates and whereabouts.

Since the rise of the peaceful protests in Syria, our organisations have been monitoring, documenting and campaigning on cases of hundreds of Syrian individuals who have been subjected to enforced disappearance. Many of those are women and children. Thousands of family members of those disappeared are struggling for justice in their dangerous and impossible quest to find the fate and whereabouts of their loved ones. They experience mental and emotional anguish, while placed outside the protection of the law, and are often blackmailed, manipulated and used by brokers. The struggle for justice must not cease, accountability towards enforced disappearance must be high on the agenda of all international peace making and negotiations on Syria which might take place.

We call for justice for Bassel Khartabil, a Syrian-Palestinian software engineer and free speech activist, who was subjected to extrajudicial execution by a military field court in October 2015 and whose fate only became known in August 2017. On 15 March 2012, Military Intelligence had arrested Bassel Khartabil and held him incommunicado for eight months.

We urge the Syrian government to immediately disclose the fate and whereabouts of tens of thousands of victims of enforced disappearances including Syrian lawyer Khalil Maatouk, whose whereabouts are unknown since he was arrested at a government military checkpoint in October 2012. We call on the armed opposition groups to release Syrian human rights defenders, including Razan Zaitouneh Samira Khalil, Wael Hamadeh and Nazem Hammadi, who were kidnapped from the Violations Documentation Center (VDC) offices by armed, masked gunmen in Douma on 9 December 2013.

We collectively call for the immediate release of all detainees held in Syria for peacefully exercising their legitimate rights to freedom of expression and association. We urge both the Syrian government and armed opposition groups to immediately disclose the fate of those disappeared and stop arbitrarily arresting, abducting and detaining people for their peaceful, journalistic, and humanitarian activities – in line with United Nations Security Council resolution 2139, which demands ‘the release of all arbitrarily detained’ in Syria.

We specifically call on the Syrian government to:

  1. Ensure that no further executions of detained human rights defenders occur, and cease their subjections to any military or ad-hoc court such as the Counter-Terrorism Court;
  2. Transfer all detainees to known and recognised places of detention, and allow visits to prisons by their families, the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and other relevant committees;
  3. Allow access to UN officials including the Independent International Commission of Inquiry on Syria to conduct impartial investigations into the tens of thousands of enforced disappearances in Syria since 2011;
  4. Ensure the registration of all detainees’ data, inform them of their detention grounds, and ensure that they have access to the necessary healthcare;
  5. Promptly accede, without making any reservation, to the International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance; and implement it fully under national law. In addition, Syrian authorities should recognize competence of the Committee on Enforced Disappearances to receive and consider communication from or on behalf of victims or other states parties;
  6. Ensure that all participants in the search for victims of enforced disappearance, in particular relatives of detainees, are protected from ill-treatment, smuggling, retaliation, arrests and enforced disappearance;
  7. Ensure that all survivors of enforced disappearance, released persons, families of deceased victims, and their relatives receive justice, truth and reparation – including material compensation, rehabilitation and restitution of property; ensure that such a crime does not recur and that all those suspected of criminal responsibility are brought to justice in fair trials before ordinary civilian courts and without recourse to death penalty.

We specifically call on armed opposition groups to:

  1. Promptly release any person subject to enforced disappearance;
  2. Submit lists of the names of the kidnapped and disappeared to their families and to relevant international organisations

Signed:

  1. Amnesty International
  2. Badael Foundation
  3. CIVICUS
  4. EuroMed Rights (EMR)
  5. Front Line Defenders
  6. Families for Freedom
  7. Gulf Centre for Human Rights (GCHR)
  8. HIVOS
  9. Human Rights Guardians
  10. Impunity Watch
  11. International Federation for Human rights (FIDH)
  12. International Service for Human Rights (ISHR)
  13. Justice for Life Organization (JFL)
  14. Palestinian Center for Development and Media Freedoms (MADA)
  15. PAX for Peace
  16. PEN international
  17. Syrian Center for Legal Studies and Research (SCLSR)
  18. Syrian Center for Media and Freedom of Expression (SCM)
  19. Syrian Institute for Justice and Accountability (SIJ)
  20. Syrians for Truth and Justice (STJ)
  21. Syrian Network for Human Rights (SNHR)
  22. The Day After (TDA)
  23. The Syrian Archive
  24. URNAMMU
  25. Violations Documentation Center in Syria (VDC)
  26. World Organisation Against Torture (OMCT)
Print Friendly

30 أغسطس/ آب 2017 – اليوم الدولي لضحايا الاختفاء القسري: سوريا – يجب تحقيق العدالة لآلاف الضحايا للاختفاء القسري

نحن منظمات المجتمع المدني الموقعة أدناه، نحيي ذكرى ضحايا الاختفاء القسري في سوريا ونعرب عن دعمنا لعائلاتهم، ونناشد المجتمع الدولي أن يدعم مطالبهم بضمان العدالة و الحقيقة و جبر الضرر والإفراج الفوري عن جميع المحتجزين قسراً في مراكز الاحتجاز السرية.

إذ يحتفل العالم باليوم الدولي لضحايا الاختفاء القسري، تعرب منظماتنا عن شجبها للاستخدام المستمر والمنهجي للاختفاء القسري والذي يشكل جريمة ضد الإنسانية  التي ترتكبه الحكومة السورية. فلإسكات ناقديها ولزرع الخوف في مجتمعاتهم المحلية، اعتمدت الحكومة السورية هذه الممارسة تجاه المدنيين و تبلورت بشكل منهجي بعد بدء الاحتجاجات السلمية في مارس/آذار 2011. كما ندعو جميع الجماعات المسلحة المنخرطة في النزاع الإفراج فورا عن جميع المختفين المحتجزين والكشف عن مصيرهم وأماكن وجودهم.

عكفت منظماتنا منذ انطلاق الاحتجاجات السلمية في سوريا على رصد  و توثيق حالات مئات الأفراد السوريين الذين وقعوا ضحايا للاختفاء القسري، والعديد منهم نساء وأطفال، ونظمت حملات للدفاع عنهم. وثمة آلاف من أفراد عائلات المختفين يكافحون من أجل العدالة في مساعيهم الخطيرة والمستحيلة لمعرفة مصير أحبائهم وأماكن وجودهم، و هم يعانون من الام عاطفية و نفسية في حين لا تطالهم حماية القانون، و غالبا ما يتم ابتزازهم و التلاعب بهم و استخدامهم من قبل الوسطاء. ويجب لمساعي تحقيق العدالة ألا تتوقف، وأن يكون تحقيق المساءلة بشأن حالات الاختفاء القسري من أولويات جميع أجندات المفاوضات والمساعي الدولية لإرساء السلام المعنية بسوريا التي قد تحدث.

ندعو إلى تحقيق العدالة لباسل خرطبيل، مهندس البرمجيات السوري الفلسطيني و الناشط السلمي في حرية التعبير، الذي تعرض لإعدام خارج نطاق القضاء من قبل محكمة ميدانية عسكرية في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2015 و الذي لم يعرف مصيره إلا في آب/ أغسطس 2017. و في 15 آذار/ مارس 2012، اعتقلت المخابرات العسكرية باسل خرطبيل و احتجزته بمعزل عن العالم الخارجي لمدة ثمانية أشهر.

ونحن نحث الحكومة السورية على الكشف فوراً عن مصير و أماكن عشرات الآلاف من ضحايا الاختفاء القسري بما في ذلك المحامي السوري خليل معتوق الذي لا يعرف مكان وجوده منذ اعتقاله عند نقطة تفتيش عسكرية في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2012. و نناشد المعارضة المسلحة على اطلاق سراح المدافعين السوريين عن حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك رزان زيتونة، وسميرة خليل، ووائل حمادة، وناظم حمادي، الذين اختُطفوا  من مكاتب مركز توثيق الانتهاكات في دوما على يد مجموعة من الرجال المسلحين والمقنّعين في 9 ديسمبر/ كانون الأول 2013.

و نطالب جماعيا بالإفراج الفوري عن جميع المحتجزين في سوريا بسبب ممارستهم السلمية لحقوقهم الشرعية بحرية التعبير والتجمع. ونناشد الحكومة السورية وجماعات المعارضة المسلحة على الكشف فورا عن مصير المختفيين ووقف اعتقالهم تعسفياً واختطافهم واحتجازهم بسبب أنشطتهم السلمية والصحفية والإنسانية – وذلك تماشياً مع قرار مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة رقم 2139، والذي يدعو إلى “الإفراج عن أي محتجزين بشكل تعسفي” في سوريا.

وتحديداً، فإننا نناشد الحكومة السورية بالالتزام بالتالي:

  1. ضمان عدم حدوث أي عمليّات إعدام أخرى للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان المحتجزين  ووقف إخضاعهم لأي محكمة عسكرية أخرى مخصصة مثل محكمة مكافحة الإرهاب.
  2. نقل  جميع المحتجزين إلى أماكن احتجاز معروفة / معترف بها، والسماح بالزيارات في السجون للأهالي واللجنة الدوليّة للصليب الأحمر واللجان المختصّة.
  3. السماح للجنة التحقيق الدوليّة المستقلّة حول سوريا بإجراء تحقيقات نزيهة  و محايدة في عشرات الالاف من حالات الاختفاء القسري في سوريا منذ 2011.
  4. ضمان تسجيل بيانات جميع المحتجزين، وإبلاغ جميع المحتجزين ببواعث احتجازهم، وضمان حصول جميع المحتجزين على الرعاية الصحيّة اللازمة.
  5. الانضمام فورا إلى الاتفاقيّة الدوليّة لحماية جميع الأشخاص من الاختفاء القسري دون إبداء أي تحفظات، و تنفيذها بالكامل بموجب القانون الوطني. و بالإضافة إلى ذلك ينبغي للسلطات السورية أن تعترف باختصاص اللجنة المعنية بحالات الاختفاء القسري في تلقي البلاغات من الضحايا أو غيرهم من الدول الأطراف أو النظر فيها.
  6. اتخاذ الإجراءات التي تكفل لجميع المشاركين في البحث عن ضحايا الاختفاء القسري، ولا سيما ذوي وأقارب المحتجزين الحماية من سوء المعاملة، والتهريب، والانتقام، والاعتقالات، والاختفاء القسري.
  7. التأكّد من حصول الناجين من الاختفاء القسري والمفرج عنهم وذوي الضحايا المتوفين وأقاربهم على العدالة و الحقيقة و جبر الضرر – ويشمل ذلك التعويض المادي وإعادة التأهيل وإعادة الممتلكات وضمان عدم تكرار حدوث هذه الجريمة مرّة أخرى، وتقديم جميع المشتبه في انهم مسؤولون جنائيا إلى العدالة في محاكمات عادلة أمام المحاكم المدنية العادية و دون اللجوء إلى عقوبة الإعدام.

و ندعو جماعات المعارضة المسلحة تحديدا إلى:

  1. الإفراج الفوري عم أي شخص يخضع للاختفاء القسري.
  2. تسليم قوائم بأسماء المخطوفين والمختفين إلى ذوي المختفين والمنظّمات الدوليّة ذات الصلة.

 

الموقعون:

  1. الأورومتوسطية للحقوق
  2. الخدمة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان
  3. الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان
  4. الفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان
  5. المركز السوري للإعلام و حرية التعبير
  6. المركز السوري للدراسات و الأبحاث القانونية
  7. المركز الفلسطيني للتنمية و الحريات الإعلامية -مدى
  8. المعهد السوري للعدالة و المساءلة
  9. المنظمة العالمية لمناهضة التعذيب
  10. امبينوتي واتش
  11. حماة حقوق الإنسان
  12. سوريون من أجل الحقيقة و العدالة
  13. سيفيكيس
  14. عائلات من أجل الحرية
  15. فرونت لاين ديفيندرز
  16. مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان
  17. مركز توثيق الانتهاكات في سوريا
  18. منظمة الأرشيف السوري
  19. منظمة العفو الدولية
  20. منظمة العدالة من أجل الحياة
  21. منظمة اليوم التالي
  22. منظمة أورنامو
  23. منظمة باكس للسلام
  24. منظمة بين الدولية
  25. منظمة هيفوس
  26. مؤسسة بدائل

 

Print Friendly