Joint Statement/ Syria: Strengthening UN action towards ensuring accountability for war crimes and crimes against humanity in Syria

September 20th, 2017 – We, the undersigned non-governmental organisations, address collectively our calls to the international community to adhere to protect civilians across Syria and take concrete action to hold all perpetrators of blatant human rights violations accountable. On the margin of the presentation of the 14th Report of the Commission of Inquiry on the Syrian Arab Republic (CoI) during the 36th session of the Human Rights Council in Geneva, we jointly ask for the immediate referral of the information gathered by the CoI to the JIM, the UN Security Council (UNSC), the UN General Assembly, with a view to ensuring accountability for these crimes.  

The CoI’s findings on the systematic use of chemical weapons perpetrated by governmental forces primarily targeting civilians should not be taken lightly, and should be considered a red line by all. The report states thatBetween March 2013 and March 2017, the Commission documented 25 incidents of chemical weapons use in the Syrian Arab Republic, of which 20 were perpetrated by government forces and used primarily against civilians. During the reporting period, government forces further used chemical weapons against civilians in the town of Khan Shaykhun, in Al-Latamneh, located approximately 11 kilometres south of Khan Shaykhun, and in eastern Ghouta”

These attacks constitute clear violations of international humanitarian law and the Convention on Chemical Weapons, the report notes, which the Syrian Arab Republic ratified in 2013 following a previous Sarin gas attack. The report acknowledges a clear and significant breach of UN Security Council Resolution 2118  on the transfer, use and manufacture of chemical weapons in Syria, whereas Article 21 of the Security Council resolution stipulates that the council would impose measures under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations in the event of non-compliance by Syria with this resolution. We remind of the importance of extending the mandate of the Organization of the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) United Nations (UN) Joint Investigative Mechanism (JIM) towards supporting further the conclusions of the specific incident of Khan Sheikhoun to identify the perpetrators responsible for the attack

Since 2012, the Syrian Government has consistently denied access to Syria to the CoI and independent human rights organisations, and failed to uphold its responsibility to protect its civilians. Until now, the international community has failed not only to protect the Syrian population, but also to ensure full fledged support to coordinated mechanisms of accountability as the UN International, Impartial and Independent Mechanism (IIIM) with a future view to achieving legal actions towards brining justice and peace to the Syrian community. The inability to fight against impunity in Syria contributes to the repetition and increase of human rights violations perpetrated by all parties to the conflict in the country and the region.

We therefore call on support towards the following:

To Permanent Representatives of Member and Observer States of the UN Human Rights Council:

  • Immediately refer the information gathered by the CoI to the UN General Assembly and recommend it to be referred to the UN Security Council (UNSC) with a view to ensuring accountability, including through a formal reporting process to the General Assembly and to the Security Council.
  • Urge States not to allow their respective countries to be safe havens for anyone responsible or supporting directly or indirectly the crimes committed in Syria, be it an individual or a commercial entity.

To members of UN Security Council:

  • Urge States to comply with their obligations under international law through the opening of national judicial investigations into those suspected of war crimes and crimes against humanity in Syria; to prosecute, and extradite any individuals implicated in such crimes that are present on their territory under the principle of personal or universal jurisdiction.
  • Encourage States to ensure the availability of legal procedures for victims of crimes to seek effective remedies and reparations.
  • Encourage efforts to promote accountability, including by actively supporting OPCW-UN JIM and the International, Impartial and Independent Mechanism (IIIM), in accordance with General Assembly resolution 71/248.
  • In view of the blockage towards the referral of the situation in Syria to the International Criminal Court (ICC), encourage prioritizing the discussions towards the creation of an international ad hoc tribunal for Syria in the upcoming General Assembly meeting.

Signatories:

  • Dawlaty
  • EuroMed Rights
  • Human Rights Guardians
  • Justice for Life Organization
  • Syrian Center for Legal Studies and Research
  • Syrian Center for Media and Freedom of Expression
  • Syrian Institute for Justice and Accountability
  • Syrians for Truth and Justice
  • Syrian Network for Human Rights
  • Syrian League for Citizenship
  • URNAMMU
  • Violations Documentation Center in Syria
Print Friendly

بيان مشترك/ سوريا: تعزيز أنشطة الأمم المتحدة الرامية إلى ضمان تحقيق المساءلة بشأن جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية في سوريا

20 سبتمبر/ أيلول 2017 ـ نحن، المنظمات غير الحكومية الموقعة أدناه، نوجه دعوى جماعية إلى المجتمع الدولي للالتزام بحماية المدنيين في جميع أنحاء سوريا واتخاذ خطوات ملموسة لإخضاع جميع مرتكبي الانتهاكات الصارخة لحقوق الإنسان للمساءلة. وفي إطار عرض التقرير الرابع عشر للجنة التحقيق الدولية المستقلة المعنية بالجمهورية العربية السورية (لجنة التحقيق) الذي سيجري أثناء الدورة السادسة والثلاثين لمجلس حقوق الإنسان في جنيف، فإننا نوجه طلباً جماعياً للقيام فوراً بإحالة جميع المعلومات التي جمعتها لجنة التحقيق إلى آلية التنفيذ المشتركة، ومجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة، والجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، وذلك بهدف تحقيق المساءلة بشأن تلك الجرائم.

ويجب عدم التهاون بشأن استنتاجات لجنة التحقيق المتعلقة بارتكاب عدة اعتداءات باستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية على يد القوات الحكومية ضد السكان المدنيين بصفة أساسية، ويجب اعتبار هذه الاعتداءات خطاً أحمر من قبل جميع الأطراف. ويصرح التقرير بأنه “في الفترة الممتدة بين آذار/ مارس 2013 إلى آذار/ مارس 2017، وثقت اللجنة 25 حادث استخدام لأسلحة كيميائية في الجمهورية العربية السورية، ارتكبت القوات الحكومية 20 منها مستخدمةً تلك الأسلحة أساساً ضد المدنيين. وخلال الفترة المشمولة بالتقرير، استخدمت القوات الحكومية الأسلحة الكيمائية أيضاً ضد المدنيين في بلدة خان شيخون، وفي اللطامنة، التي تقع على بعد حوالي 11 كيلومتراً إلى الجنوب من خان شيخون، وفي الغوطة الشرقية”.

ويشير التقرير إلى أن هذه الاعتداءات تمثل انتهاكاً واضحاً للقانون الدولي الإنساني واتفاقية حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية، والتي صادقت  عليها الجمهورية العربية السورية في عام 2013 في أعقاب اعتداء باستخدام غاز السارين. ويقر التقرير بحدوث انتهاك واضح وكبير لقرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2118 بشأن نقل واستخدام وتصنيع الأسلحة الكيميائية في سوريا، حيث تنص المادة 21 من القرار على مجلس الأمن سيفرض تدابير بموجب الفصل السابع من ميثاق الأمم المتحدة في حالة عدم امتثال السلطات السورية لهذا القرار. ونحن نُذكّر بأهمية توسيع ولاية منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية وآلية التنفيذ المشتركة التابعة للأمم المتحدة بغية تأكيد الاستنتاجات الخاصة باعتداء خان شيخون لتحديد هوية مرتكبي الاعتداء.

ومنذ عام 2012، ظلت الحكومة السورية تمنع وصول فريق لجنة التحقيق ومنظمات حقوق الإنسان المستقلة، وأخفقت في النهوض بالمسؤولية عن حماية المدنيين. ولغاية الآن، قصّر المجتمع الدولي عن حماية السكان السوريين، كما قصّر عن ضمان الدعم الكامل للآليات المنسقة المعنية بالمساءلة من قبيل آلية التحقيق الدولية المحايدة والمستقلة التابعة للأمم المتحدة (IIIM) والرامية إلى الشروع بإجراءات قضائية لتحقيق العدالة والسلام للشعب السوري. إن العجز عن مكافحة الإفلات من العقاب في سوريا يساهم في تكرار انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي ترتكبها كافة أطراف النزاع في البلد وفي المنطقة، وزيادة تلك الانتهاكات.

لذا فإننا نطالب بالدعم من أجل تحقيق ما يلي:

إلى الممثلين الدائمين للدول الأعضاء والدول التي تتمتع بصفة مراقب في مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة:

  • القيام فوراً بإحالة المعلومات التي جمعتها لجنة التحقيق إلى الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، وإصدار توصية لها بإحالة المعلومات إلى مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة بغية ضمان تحقيق المساءلة، بما في ذلك من خلال عملية الإبلاغ الرسمية للجمعية العامة ولمجلس الأمن.
  • حثّ الدول على عدم السماح بأن تصبح بلدانها مأوى آمناً لأي شخص مسؤول عن الجرائم التي ارتُكبت في سوريا أو قدم دعماً مباشراً أو غير مباشر لارتكابها، سواء أكان فرداً أم هيئة تجارية.

إلى أعضاء مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة:

  • حثّ الدول على الوفاء بالتزاماتها بموجب القانون الدولي من خلال فتح تحقيقات قضائية وطنية بشأن الأشخاص الذين يُشتبه بأنهم ارتكبوا جرائم حرب أو جرائم ضد الإنسانية في سوريا؛ وإجراء محاكمات لأي فرد متورط في مثل هذه الجرائم يتواجد في مناطق الدول المعنية وتسليمه إلى السلطات المختصة، وذلك بموجب الاختصاص القضائي الشخصي أو الولاية القضائية العالمية.
  • حثّ الدول على ضمان توفر الإجراءات القانونية لضحايا الجرائم للمطالبة بإنصاف فعال وتعويضات.
  • تشجيع الجهود الرامية إلى تعزيز المساءلة، بما في ذلك من خلال تقديم الدعم الفاعل لمنظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية وآلية التنفيذ المشتركة التابعة للأمم المتحدة، وآلية التحقيق الدولية المحايدة والمستقلة التابعة للأمم المتحدة، وذلك وفقاً لقرار الجمعية العامة رقم 71/248.
  • نظراً لحالة الجمود في إحالة الوضع في سوريا إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، يجب إيلاء الأولوية للمناقشات المتعلقة بتأسيس محكمة دولية خاصة لسوريا خلال الاجتماع المقبل للجمعية العامة.

الموقعون:

  • الأورومتوسطية للحقوق
  • الشبكة السورية لحقوق الانسان
  • المركز السوري للدراسات و الابحاث القانونية
  • المركز السوري للعدالة و المسائلة
  • المركز السوري للإعلام وحرية التعبير
  • الرابطة السورية للمواطنة
  • سوريون من اجل الحقيقة و العدالة
  • مركز توثيق الانتهاكات في سوريا
  • منظمة اورنامو
  • منظمة العدالة من أجل الحياة
  • منظمة حماة حقوق الانسان
  • دولتي
Print Friendly