Imprisoned Kuwaiti Activist Named Finalist For International Human Rights Award

30 March 2017

“I needed to become a human rights defender to work specifically on the violence against our people from the state security, and the riot police, whenever we would go out to demonstrate. I take photos and films; I publicise their violence. This is why the government is trying to stop me.”

Imprisoned Kuwaiti activist Abdulhakim Al Fadhli has been named one of five finalists for the 2017 Front Line Defenders Award for Human Rights Defenders at Risk, presented annually in Ireland. Abdulhakim is currently serving a one year prison sentence for his peaceful activism on behalf of Kuwait’s stateless Bedoon and other minority communities in Kuwait.

In Dublin today, jury members selected human rights defenders from Ukraine, Nicaragua, Vietnam, South Africa and Kuwait after receiving 142 nominations from 56 countries. The Award is presented annually to a human rights defender who – at great personal risk – has made an exceptional contribution to protecting and promoting the rights of their communities.

“These five defenders demonstrate the tenacity and will to persist in the face of severe, often life-threatening risks,” said Andrew Anderson, Executive Director of Front Line Defenders, as he announced the finalists in Dublin on 30 March.

The 2017 finalists and their families have faced attacks, defamation campaigns, legal harassment, death threats, prison sentences, and intimidation. Front Line Defenders works to promote the visibility and protection of the five finalists named today, who are critical to the human rights movements in their countries and communities.

“Human rights defenders tell us that international visibility is vital to their work, particularly as governments and corporations work to defame, slander, and delegitimize their peaceful struggle for rights,” said Mr. Anderson. “Our Award recognises the courage of Nonhle, Francesca, Abdulhakim, Emil and Nghien. Their struggle has not gone unnoticed and we in Ireland support their fight for rights.”

The term Bedoon, meaning “without” in Arabic, refers to the community of stateless persons, native to Kuwait, who are prohibited from obtaining any official state documents including, but not limited to, birth, death and marriage certificates. Abdulhakim is currently serving a one-year prison sentence and faces deportation upon release. Throughout his imprisonment, he has protested and staged hunger strikes against the inhumane and unsanitary conditions in the Anbar 4 prison facility, where he has also been subjected to solitary confinement.

Vietnamese blogger Pham Thanh Nghien spent four years in prison for her work publicising violations against and defending the rights of relatives of fishermen killed by Chinese patrols. Following her release, she was kept under house arrest, during which time she spearheaded numerous human rights campaigns and co-founded the renowned Vietnamese Bloggers’ Network. Nghien has had her home raided, been blocked from attending medical appointments, had a padlock placed on her door from the outside, and been refused a marriage certificate. Nghien has also survived numerous physical assaults aimed at stopping her powerful, peaceful work uncovering and publicising human rights violations in Vietnam.

Emil Kurbedinov is a Crimean Tatar and human rights lawyer. Since the occupation of Crimea by the Russian Federation, Emil has been defending the persecuted Crimean Tatar minority, civil society activists and journalists. He also provides emergency response and documentation of rights violations during raids and searches of activists’ homes. In January 2017, masked representatives from Crimea’s Centre for Counteracting Extremism abducted Emil and took him to a local directorate of the Russian Federal Security Service (FSB) for interrogation. A district court found him guilty of “propagandizing for extremist organisations” and sentenced him to ten days in detention.

Nonhle Mbuthuma has persisted in her struggle for land and environmental rights in South Africa’s Eastern Cape despite assassination attempts, ongoing death threats and the murder of her colleague. She is a founder and current member of the Executive Committee of the Amadiba Crisis Committee, formed to unite community members in five villages of the Amadiba Tribal Authority region opposing destructive mining projects. In July 2016, Nonhle and other activists successfully forced the biggest shareholder in a titanium mining project to withdraw, but threats to activists continue as the community now fears the project will continue with funding from local “front” companies.

Human rights defender Francisca Ramírez Torres‘ children were attacked in attempt to stop her powerful work advocating against a destructive inter-oceanic canal in Nicaragua. Francisca is the coordinator of the Council for the Defence of Land, Lake and Sovereignty, which educates communities on their rights, campaigns for the repeal of laws allowing land-grabbing. The proposed canal would displace thousands of small farmers and indigenous peoples, without respecting their right to free, prior and informed consent. Francisca has been detained, harassed, and had her home and family attacked for her peaceful resistance to this destructive canal project.

The recipient of the 2017 Front Line Defenders Award for Human Rights Defenders at Risk will be announced at a ceremony at Dublin’s City Hall on Friday, 26 May at 8 AM.

For more information, please contact:

Erin Kilbride

Media Coordinator

Front Line Defenders

erin@frontlinedefenders.org

+353 85 742 3767

Print Friendly

ناشط كويتي معتقل يرشح ضمن القائمة النهائية للجائزة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان

مارس آذار30

كنت بحاجة لأن أكون مدافعا عن حقوق الإنسان للعمل بالذات في كشف عنف أمن الدولة وشرطة مكافحة الشغب ضد شعبنا كلما خرجنا في تظاهرة. أنني أقوم بالتقاط أفلام وصور وأنشر عنفهم، ذلك تسعى الحكومة لإيقافي“.

الناشط الكويتي، عبد الحكيم الفضلي، يترشح ضمن القائمة النهائية لخمسة متأهلين لـجائزة فرونت لاين ديفندرز لعام 2017 المخصصة للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان المعرضين للخطر، والمقدمة سنويا في أيرلندا. يقضي عبد الحكيم حاليا حكما بالسجن لمدة عام واحد لنشاطه السلمي ممثلا عن فئة البدون المحرومة من الجنسية وغيرها من الأقليات في الكويت.

من بين 142 ترشيحا من 56 بلدا، اختار أعضاء لجنة التحكيم في دبلن اليوم خمسة مدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان من أوكرانيا ونيكاراغوا وفيتنام وجنوب أفريقيا والكويت. هذه الجائزة تقدم سنويا إلى مدافع واحد عن حقوق الإنسان يكون قد قدم مساهمة استثنائية في حماية وتعزيز حقوق مجتمعه.

عند إعلانه عن قائمة المرشحين النهائيين في 30 مارس/آذار في دبلن، قال المدير التنفيذي لفرونت لاين ديفندرز، أندرو أندرسون: “يُبدي هؤلاء المدافعون الخمسة العزم والإرادة في مواجهة مخاطر شديدة غالباً ما تهدد حياتهم”.

المتأهلون النهائيون لجائزة عام 2017 وأسرهم واجهوا اعتداءات وحملات تشهير ومضايقات قانونية وتهديدات بالموت وأحكام سجن وترهيب.ولذا تعمل فرونت لاين ديفندرز على تعزيز إظهار وحماية الخمسة المتأهلين الذين تم الإعلان عنهم اليوم، والذين هم في غاية الأهمية بالنسبة لحركة حقوق الإنسان في بلدانهم ومجتمعاتهم.

كما أردف السيد أندرسون قائلاً: “يخبرنا المدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان بأن الدعم الدولي هو أمر حيوي بالنسبة لعملهم، لا سيما وأن الحكومات والشركات تعمل على تشويه نضالهم السلمي من أجل الحقوق والتشهير بهم ونزع الشرعية عنهم”، مضيفاً: “إن جائزتنا هي تكريم لشجاعة نونل، و فرانشيسكا، و عبد الحكيم، و إميل، و فام. فنضالهم لم يكن منسياً بل إننا في أيرلندا نؤيد كفاحهم من أجل الحقوق”.

“البدون” مصطلح يعنى به تلك الفئة الكويتية المحرومة من الجنسية التي يُحظر عليها الحصول على أي وثائق رسمية من الدولة، وعلى سبيل المثال لا الحصر؛ شهادات الميلاد والوفاة والزواج. ويقضي عبد الحكيم حاليا حكما بالسجن لمدة سنة واحدة كما يواجه خطر الترحيل بعد الإفراج عنه. وطوال فترة سجنه، دخل عبد الحكيم في إضرابات عن الطعام احتجاجا على الظروف غير الإنسانية وغير الصحية في العنبر الرابع من السجن حيث أودع هناك أيضا في الحبس الانفرادي.

قضت المدونة الفيتنامية، فام ثانه نغيان، أربع سنوات في السجن بسبب عملها في نشر انتهاكات الحقوق والدفاع عن أقارب الصيادين الذين تم قتلهم بواسطة الدوريات الصينية. بعد إطلاق سراحها، ظلت تحت الإقامة الجبرية، قادت خلالها العديد من حملات حقوق الإنسان وشاركت في تأسيس شبكة المدونين الفيتناميين المشهورة. تعرض منزل فام للمداهمة، وتم منعها من حضور مواعيدها الطبية، ووضع قفل على باب منزلها من الخارج، و رُفض اعطاؤها شهادة زواج. كما نجت فام من العديد من الاعتداءات الجسدية الرامية إلى وقف عملها القوي والسلمي في فضح ونشر انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في فيتنام.

إميل كوربيدينوف، هو من تتار القرم ومحامي حقوق الإنسان. ومنذ احتلال الاتحاد الروسي لجزر القرم، دأب إميل على الدفاع عن الأقلية المضطهدة في القرم والناشطين في المجتمع المدني والصحفيين. وهو يعمل على تقديم الدعم في الحالات الطارئة وتوثيق انتهاكات الحقوق أثناء الغارات وتفتيش منازل النشطاء. في يناير/كانون الثاني 2017، قام ملثمون من مركز مكافحة التطرف في القرم باختطاف إميل واقتياده إلى مديرية محلية تابعة لجهاز الأمن الاتحادي الروسي للتحقيق معه. فأدانته محكمة محلية بتهمة “الترويج للمنظمات المتطرفة” وحكمت عليه بالحبس لمدة عشرة أيام.

ثابرت نونل مبوثوما في نضالها من أجل حقوق الأرض والبيئة في الكاب الشرقية بجنوب أفريقيا على الرغم من محاولات الاغتيال والتهديدات المستمرة بالقتل وقتل زميلها. نونل، هي مؤسس وعضو حالي في اللجنة التنفيذية للجنة أزمة أماديبا، التي شكلت لتوحيد أفراد المجتمع في خمس قرى بمنطقة سلطة قبائل أمديبا المعارضة لمشاريع التعدين المدمرة. في يوليو/تموز 2016، نجحت نونل وغيرها من الناشطين على إجبار أكبر مساهم في مشروع تعدين التيتانيوم على الانسحاب، ولكن لازالت التهديدات التي يتعرض لها الناشطون قائمة حيث يخشى المجتمع الآن من أن يستمر المشروع بتمويل من الشركات المحلية “المتصدرة”.

تمت مهاجمة أطفال المدافِعة عن حقوق الإنسان، فرانشيسكا راميريز توريس، في محاولة لوقف عملها القوي ضد مشروع قناة محيطية مدمرة في نيكاراغوا. فرانسيسكا هي منسقة بمجلس الدفاع عن الأرض والبحيرة والسيادة، والذي يعمل على تثقيف المجتمعات حول حقوقها، والقيام بحملات لإلغاء القوانين التي تسمح بالاستيلاء على الأراضي. القناة المقترحة سوف تؤدي إلى تشريد الآلاف من صغار المزارعين والشعوب الأصلية دون احترام لحقهم في الإطلاع والموافقة المسبقة بحرية. تعرضت فرانسيسكا للاعتقال والمضايقة، وأسرتها ومنزلها للاقتحام، بسبب مقاومتها السلمية لمشروع القناة المدمرة.

سوف يتم الإعلان عن الفائز بجائزة فرونت لاين ديفندرز لعام 2017 للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان المعرضين للخطر، في حفل سيقام بقاعة بلدية مدينة دبلن في الساعة الثامنة من صباح يوم الجمعة 26 مايو/أيار.

 

لمزيد من المعلومات، يُرجى الاتصال بـ:

إيرين كيلبرايد Erin Kilbride

المنسقة الإعلامية بـفرونت لاين ديفندرز

erin@frontlinedefenders.org

00353857423767

Print Friendly