Egypt: Torture Epidemic May Be Crime Against Humanity

Beatings, Electric Shocks, Stress Positions Routinely Used Against Dissidents

Members of security forces keep watch in Tahrir Square during the fifth anniversary of the uprising that ended the 30-year reign of Hosni Mubarak in Cairo, Egypt, January 25, 2016.
© 2016 Mohamed Abd El Ghany/Reuters

(Beirut) – Under President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, Egypt’s regular police and National Security officers routinely torture political detainees with techniques including beatings, electric shocks, stress positions, and sometimes rape, Human Rights Watch said in a new report released today.

Widespread and systematic torture by the security forces probably amounts to a crime against humanity, according to the 63-page report, “‘We Do Unreasonable Things Here’: Torture and National Security in al-Sisi’s Egypt.” Prosecutors typically ignore complaints from detainees about ill-treatment and sometimes threaten them with torture, creating an environment of almost total impunity, Human Rights Watch said.

Under President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, Egypt’s regular police and National Security officers routinely
torture political detainees with techniques including beatings,
electric shocks, stress positions, and sometimes rape.

“President al-Sisi has effectively given police and National Security officers a green light to use torture whenever they please,” said Joe Stork, deputy Middle East director at Human Rights Watch. “Impunity for the systematic use of torture has left citizens with no hope for justice.”

The report documents how security forces, particularly officers of the Interior Ministry’s National Security Agency, use torture to force suspects to confess or divulge information, or to punish them. Allegations of torture have been widespread since then-Defense Minister al-Sisi ousted former President Mohamed Morsy in 2013, beginning a widespread crackdown on basic rights. Torture has long been endemic in Egypt’s law enforcement system, and rampant abuses by security forces helped spark the nationwide revolt in 2011 that unseated longtime leader Hosni Mubarak after nearly 30 years.

Human Rights Watch interviewed 19 former detainees and the family of a 20th detainee who were tortured between 2014 and 2016, as well as Egyptian defense and human rights lawyers. Human Rights Watch also reviewed dozens of reports about torture produced by Egyptian human rights groups and media outlets. The techniques of torture documented by Human Rights Watch have been practiced in police stations and National Security offices throughout the country, using nearly identical methods, for many years.

Under international law, torture is a crime of universal jurisdiction that can be prosecuted in any country. States are required to arrest and investigate anyone on their territory credibly suspected of involvement in torture and to prosecute them or extradite them to face justice.

Since the 2013 military coup, Egyptian authorities have arrested or charged probably at least 60,000 peopleforcibly disappeared hundreds for months at a time, handed down preliminary death sentences to hundreds more, tried thousands of civilians in military courts, and created at least 19 new prisons or jails to hold this influx. The primary target of this repression has been the Muslim Brotherhood, the country’s largest opposition movement.

Human Rights Watch found that the Interior Ministry has developed an assembly line of serious abuse to collect information about suspected dissidents and prepare often fabricated cases against them. This begins at the point of arbitrary arrest, progresses to torture and interrogation during periods of enforced disappearance, and concludes with presentation before prosecutors, who often pressure suspects to confirm their confessions and almost never investigate abuses.

The former detainees said that torture sessions begin with security officers using electric shocks on a blindfolded, stripped, and handcuffed suspect while slapping and punching him or beating him with sticks and metal bars. If the suspect fails to give the officers the answers they want, the officers increase the power and duration of the electric shocks and almost always shock the suspect’s genitals.

Officers then employ two types of stress positions to inflict severe pain on suspects, the detainees said. In one, they hang suspects above the floor with their arms raised backwards behind them, an unnatural position that causes excruciating pain in the back and shoulders and sometimes dislocates their shoulders. In a second, called the “chicken” or “grill,” officers place suspects’ knees and arms on opposite sides of a bar so that the bar lies between the crook of their elbows and the back of their knees and tie their hands together above their shins. When the officers lift the bar and suspend the suspects in the air, like a chicken on a spit, they suffer excruciating pain in shoulders, knees, and arms.

Security officers hold detainees in these stress positions for hours at a time and continue to beat, electrocute, and interrogate them.

“Khaled,” a 29-year-old accountant, told Human Rights Watch that in January 2015, National Security officers in Alexandria arrested him and took him to the city’s Interior Ministry headquarters. They told him to admit to participating in arson attacks on police cars the previous year. When Khaled denied knowing anything about the attacks, an officer stripped off his clothing and began shocking him with electrified wires. The torture and interrogations, involving severe electric shocks and stress positions, continued for nearly six days, during which Khaled was allowed no contact with relatives or lawyers. Officers forced him to read a prepared confession, which they filmed, stating he had burned police cars on the orders of the Muslim Brotherhood.

After 10 days, a team of prosecutors questioned Khaled and fellow detainees. When Khaled told one prosecutor that he had been tortured, the prosecutor replied it was none of his business and ordered Khaled to restate the videotaped confession, or else he would send him back to be tortured again.

“You’re at their mercy, ‘Whatever we say, you’re gonna do.’ They electrocuted me in my head, testicles, under my armpits. They used to heat water and throw it on you. Every time I lose consciousness, they would throw it on me,” Khaled recalled.

Egypt’s history of torture stretches back more than three decades, and Human Rights Watch first recorded the practices documented in this report as early as 1992. Egypt is also the only country to be the subject of two public inquiries by the United Nations Committee against Torture, which wrote in June 2017 that that the facts gathered by the committee “lead to the inescapable conclusion that torture is a systematic practice in Egypt.”

Since the military unseated former president Morsy in 2013, the authorities have reconstituted and expanded the repressive instruments that defined Mubarak’s rule. The regularity of torture and the impunity for its practice since 2013 has created a climate in which those who are abused see no chance to hold their abusers to account and often do not bother even filing complaints to prosecutors.

Between July 2013 and December 2016, prosecutors officially investigated at least 40 torture cases, a fraction of the hundreds of allegations made, yet Human Rights Watch found only six cases in which prosecutors won guilty verdicts against Interior Ministry officers. All these verdicts remain on appeal and only one involved the National Security Agency.

Al-Sisi should direct the Justice Ministry to create an independent special prosecutor empowered to inspect detention sites, investigate and prosecute abuse by the security services, and publish a record of action taken, Human Rights Watch said. Failing a serious effort by the Sisi administration to confront the torture epidemic, UN member states should investigate and prosecute Egyptian officials accused of committing, ordering, or assisting torture.

“Past impunity for torture caused great harm to hundreds of Egyptians and laid the conditions for the 2011 revolt,” Stork said. “Allowing the security services to commit this heinous crime across the country invites another cycle of unrest.”

“We Do Unreasonable Things Here”

Torture and National Security in al-Sisi’s Egypt

Source: HRW

Print Friendly

مصر: وباء التعذيب قد يشكل جريمة ضد الإنسانية

المعارضون يخضعون روتينيا للضرب، الصعق بالكهرباء، والتعليق

عناصر الأمن يحرسون ميدان التحرير خلال الذكرى الخامسة للانتفاضة التي أنهت 30 عاما من حكم حسني مبارك في القاهرة، مصر، 25 يناير/كانون الثاني 2016.
© 2016 رويترز/محمد عبد الغني

(بيروت) – قالت “هيومن رايتس ووتش” في تقرير صدر اليوم إن ضباط وعناصر الشرطة و”قطاع الأمن الوطني” في مصر، في عهد الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، يعذبون المعتقلين السياسيين بشكل روتيني بأساليب تشمل الضرب، الصعق بالكهرباء، وضعيات مجهدة، وأحيانا الاغتصاب.

قد يرقى التعذيب الواسع النطاق والمنهجي من قبل قوات الأمن إلى جريمة ضد الإنسانية، وفقا للتقرير الصادر في 44 صفحة، “´هنا نفعل أشياء لا تصدق´: التعذيب والأمن الوطني في مصر تحت حكم السيسي”.  قالت هيومن رايتس ووتش إن النيابة العامة تتجاهل عادة شكاوى المحتجزين بشأن سوء المعاملة وتهددهم في بعض الأحيان بالتعذيب، مما يخلق بيئة من الإفلات شبه التام من العقاب.


قالت “هيومن رايتس ووتش” في تقرير صدر اليوم إن ضباط وعناصر الشرطة و”قطاع الأمن الوطني” في مصر،
في عهد الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي، يعذبون المعتقلين السياسيين بشكل روتيني
بأساليب تشمل الضرب، الصعق بالكهرباء، وضعيات مجهدة، وأحيانا الاغتصاب.

 

قال جو ستورك، نائب المديرة التنفيذية لقسم الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في هيومن رايتس ووتش: “أعطى الرئيس السيسي ضباط وعناصر الشرطة والأمن الوطني الضوء الأخضر لاستخدام التعذيب كلما أرادوا. لم يترك الإفلات من العقاب على التعذيب المنهجي أي أمل للمواطنين في تحقيق العدالة”.

يوثق التقرير كيف تستخدم قوات الأمن، ولا سيما عناصر وضباط الأمن الوطني التابع لوزارة الداخلية، التعذيب لإرغام المشتبه بهم على الاعتراف أو الإفصاح عن معلومات، أو لمعاقبتهم. انتشرت ادعاءات التعذيب بشكل واسع منذ أن أطاح وزير الدفاع آنذاك، السيسي، بالرئيس السابق محمد مرسي عام 2013، وبدأ هجوما واسعا على الحقوق الأساسية. لطالما كان التعذيب متفشيا في الأطر الأمنية والعدلية في مصر، كما أن الانتهاكات الواسعة من قبل قوات الأمن ساعدت على انطلاق الثورة في مختلف أنحاء البلاد عام 2011، التي أطاحت بالزعيم السابق حسني مبارك بعد قرابة 30 عاما في الحكم.

قابلت هيومن رايتس ووتش 19 معتقلا سابقا وأسرة معتقل آخر تعرضوا للتعذيب بين عامي 2014 و2016، فضلا عن محامي الدفاع وحقوقيين مصريين. كما راجعت هيومن رايتس ووتش عشرات التقارير عن التعذيب التي أصدرتها المنظمات الحقوقية ووسائل إعلام مصرية. مورست تقنيات التعذيب التي وثقتها هيومن رايتس ووتش في مراكز الشرطة ومقرات الأمن الوطني في جميع أنحاء البلاد، واستخدمت أساليب متطابقة تقريبا، لسنوات عديدة.

بموجب القانون الدولي، يُعتبر التعذيب جريمة تخضع للولاية القضائية العالمية ويمكن مقاضاة مرتكبيه في أي بلد. على الدول توقيف، والتحقيق مع، أي شخص على ترابها يشتبه في تورطه في التعذيب، وأن تحاكمه أو تُرحله لمواجهة العدالة.

منذ الانقلاب العسكري عام 2013، اعتقلت السلطات المصرية أو اتهمت 60 ألف شخص على الأقل، وأخفت قسرا المئات لعدة أشهر في وقت واحد، وأصدرت أحكاما أولية بالإعدام في حق مئات آخرين، وحاكمت آلاف المدنيين في محاكم عسكرية، وأنشأت ما لا يقل عن 19 سجنا وحبسا جديدا لاحتواء هذا التدفق. وكان الهدف الرئيسي لهذا القمع جماعة “الإخوان المسلمون”، أكبر حركة معارضة في البلاد.

وجدت هيومن رايتس ووتش أن وزارة الداخلية قد طورت سلسلة متكاملة لارتكاب الانتهاكات الخطيرة لجمع المعلومات عن المشتبه في كونهم معارضين وإعداد قضايا ضدهم، غالبا ما تكون ملفقة. ويبدأ ذلك عند الاعتقال التعسفي، ويتطور إلى التعذيب، والاستجواب خلال فترات الاختفاء القسري، وينتهي بالتقديم أمام أعضاء النيابة العامة الذين كثيرا ما يضغطون على المشتبه بهم لتأكيد اعترافاتهم، ويمتنعون بشكل كامل تقريبا عن التحقيق في الانتهاكات.

قال معتقلون سابقون إن جلسات التعذيب تبدأ باستخدام عناصر الأمن بصعق المشتبه به بالكهرباء وهو معصوب العينين، عار، ومقيد اليدين بينما يصفعونه، أو يلكمونه، أو يضربونه بالعصي والقضبان المعدنية. وإذا لم يمنح المشتبه به العناصر الإجابات التي يريدونها، فإنهم يزيدون قوة الصعق بالكهرباء ومدته، وتقريبا دائما ما يصعقون المشتبه به في أعضائه التناسلية.

قال معتقلون إن العناصر يستخدمون نوعين من وضعيات الإجهاد لإخضاع المشتبه بهم لألم شديد. في واحدة منها، يعلقون المشتبه بهم فوق الأرض وأيديهم مرفوعة إلى الوراء، وهي وضعية غير طبيعية تسبب ألما شديدا في الظهر والكتفين، وتخلع أحيانا أكتافهم. في الثانية، وتسمى “الفرخة” أو “الشواية”، يضع العناصر ركبتي المشتبه فيهم وذراعيهم على الطرفين المتقابلين للقضيب، بحيث يقع القضيب بين مفصل المرفقين والجزء الخلفي من الركبتين، ويربطون أيديهم معا فوق مقدمة سيقانهم. وعندما يرفع الضباط القضيب ويعلقون المشتبه بهم في الهواء، مثل دجاجة على سيخ الشواء، يعاني هؤلاء من ألم شديد في الكتفين، الركبتين، والذراعين.

يضع عناصر الأمن المعتقلين في وضعيات الإجهاد هذه لساعات كل مرة، ويستمرون في ضربهم، صعقهم بالكهرباء، واستجوابهم.

قال “خالد”، وهو محاسب يبلغ من العمر 29 عاما، لـ هيومن رايتس ووتش إن عناصر الأمن الوطني في الإسكندرية اعتقلوه في يناير/كانون الثاني 2015، واقتادوه إلى مديرية الأمن التابعة لوزارة الداخلية بالمدينة. طلبوا منه أن يعترف بالمشاركة في إحراق متعمد لسيارات الشرطة في العام السابق. وعندما نفى خالد معرفة أي شيء عن الهجمات، جرده أحد العناصر من ملابسه وبدأ يصعقه بأسلاك مكهربة. استمرت عمليات التعذيب والاستجواب، والتي شملت صعقا شديدا بالكهرباء ووضعيات إجهاد، لمدة 6 أيام تقريبا، ولم يُسمح خلالها لـ خالد بالاتصال بأقاربه أو محامين. أجبره الضباط على قراءة اعترافات مُعَدَّة وصوروها، وتقول إنه أحرق سيارات الشرطة بناء على أوامر من الإخوان المسلمين.

بعد 10 أيام، استجوب عدة أعضاء من النيابة العامة خالد وزملاءه المحتجزين. وعندما أخبر خالد أحد أعضاء النيابة بأنه تعرض للتعذيب، رد عليه بأن ذلك ليس من اختصاصه، وأمر خالد بإعادة سرد الاعتراف المصور، وإلا فإنه سيعيده مرة أخرى للتعذيب.

يتذكر خالد: “أنت تحت رحمتهم، ’ستفعل كل ما نقوله لك‘. صعقوني بالكهرباء في رأسي، وخصيتيّ، وتحت إبطيّ. كانوا يُسخنون الماء ويصبونه عليك. في كل مرة أفقد فيها وعيي، كانوا يصبونه علي”.

يمتد تاريخ مصر من التعذيب إلى أكثر من 3 عقود، سجلت هيومن رايتس ووتش لأول مرة الممارسات الموثقة في هذا التقرير منذ عام 1992. مصر هي الدولة الوحيدة التي تخضع لتحقيقين عموميين من قبل “لجنة مناهضة التعذيب” التابعة للأمم المتحدة، والتي كتبت في يونيو/حزيران 2017 أن الوقائع التي جمعتها اللجنة تؤدي “إلى استنتاج لا مفر منه وهو أن التعذيب ممارسة منهجية في مصر”.

منذ أن أزاح الجيش الرئيس السابق، مرسي، عام 2013، أعادت السلطات تشكيل وتوسيع الأدوات القمعية التي ميّزت حكم مبارك. أدى انتظام التعذيب والإفلات من العقاب على ممارسته منذ عام 2013 إلى خلق مناخ لا يرى فيه من يتعرضون للإيذاء أي فرصة لمساءلة المسيئين، وكثيرا ما لا يكلفون أنفسهم عناء حتى تقديم الشكاوى إلى النيابة العامة.

بين يوليو/تموز 2013 وديسمبر/كانون الأول 2016، حققت النيابة العامة رسميا في 40 قضية تعذيب، وهي جزء بسيط من مئات الادعاءات المقدمة، لكن هيومن رايتس ووتش لم تعثر إلا على 6 قضايا فازت النيابة العامة بأحكام إدانة ضد عناصر وضباط وزارة الداخلية. ولا تزال جميع هذه الأحكام قيد الاستئناف، وتشمل حالة واحد فقط ضباطا بالأمن الوطني.

قالت هيومن رايتس ووتش إن على السيسي تكليف وزارة العدل بإنشاء منصب مدع خاص مستقل مكلف بتفتيش مراكز الاعتقال، والتحقيق في الإساءة من قبل الأجهزة الأمنية ومقاضاتها، ونشر سجل الإجراءات المتخذة. وفي حال عدم قيام إدارة السيسي بجهد جدي لمواجهة وباء التعذيب، على الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة التحقيق ومقاضاة المسؤولين المصريين المتهمين بارتكاب التعذيب، أو الأمر به، أو المساعدة عليه.

قال ستورك: “تسبب الافلات من العقاب في الماضي في ضرر كبير لمئات المصريين ومهّد لثورة 2011. السماح للأجهزة الأمنية بارتكاب هذه الجريمة الشنيعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد قد يسبّب موجة أخرى من الاضطرابات”.

 

 

المصدر: هيومن رايتس ووتش

 

Print Friendly