After 282 days of arbitrary detention, human rights defender Nabeel Rajab’s trial postponed once again

PRESS RELEASE

BAHRAIN:  March 23, 2017 – On March 22, 2017, Manama’s Fifth High Criminal Court postponed again Bahraini human rights defender Nabeel Rajab’s trial in the Twitter case, in clear contempt of international human rights standards. His arbitrary detention and judicial harassment are only meant to silence one of Bahrain’s most vocal human rights defenders, say the Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (ANHRI), Front Line Defenders, the Gulf Centre for Human Rights (GCHR) and the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders (FIDH-OMCT).

 Arbitrarily detained since June 13, 2016, Nabeel Rajab is facing a series of charges and up to 18 years in prison. In the “Twitter case”, ongoing since April 2, 2015, Nabeel Rajab is accused of “deliberately spreading false information and malicious rumours with the aim of discrediting the State”, “disseminating false rumours in time of war”, “insulting a statutory body” and “offending a foreign country [Saudi Arabia]” in relation to Tweets denouncing the torture of detainees in the Kingdom’s Jaw Prison and human rights violations perpetrated by the Saudi-Arabia led coalition air strikes in Yemen. The thirteenth hearing is scheduled on May 17, 2017. In addition, Nabeel Rajab is facing charges of “spreading false information and malicious rumours about domestic matters with the aim of discrediting and adversely affecting the State’s prestige” in a separate case related to three televised interviews made in 2015 and 2016 in which Nabeel Rajab exposed Bahrain’s poor human rights record. The next hearing in that case is on May 3, 2017.

Despite a court order to temporarily release him following a failure to give any sufficient evidence in the Twitter case, Nabeel Rajab remains arbitrarily detained. Arbitrary and solitary detention, endless postponements, denial of visa for international human rights NGOs have been jeopardising the judicial process. Bahrain is failing its international obligations and makes a mockery of justice,” declared the organisations.

Further investigations are underway and may lead to additional charges, including “intentionally broadcasting false news and malicious rumours abroad impairing the prestige of the state” following the publication on September 5, 2016 of an Op-Ed in The New York Times with his by-line, which discussed the conditions of his imprisonment and arrest. In addition, he has been questioned about the publication on December 19, 2016, of a letter published in his name in the French newspaper Le Monde which urged Paris and Berlin to “reassess their relationship with [members of the Gulf Cooperation Council], which actively work against democracy and human rights and fan the flames of violence and extremism.”

The public prosecution has failed to provide any evidence of wrongdoing against Nabeel. Yet he has been detained for 282 days. There is no presumption of innocence, he is already serving a sentence without any conviction. Pending charges must be dropped and he must be immediately and unconditionally released, added the organisations.

Nabeel Rajab, is the co-founder and President of the Bahrain Center for Human Rights (BCHR), Founding Director of GCHR, Deputy Secretary General of FIDH and a member of the Middle East advisory committee at Human Rights Watch.

While in detention he is being held in solitary confinement the vast majority of the time and denied access to proper care, despite the impact on his health. International NGOs are not able to gain access to Nabeel Rajab in prison, nor have they been authorised to visit the country, making it extremely difficult for them to monitor the trial.

For more details on his case, see statement by ANHRI, Front Line Defenders, GCHR and the Observatory, please see: http://www.gc4hr.org/news/view/1460

Print Friendly

بعد 282 يوم من الاعتقال التعسفي، تأجيل محاكمة المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان نبيل رجب مرة أخرى

تصريح صحفي

البحرين: 2017-03-23 ـ في 22 مارس/آذار 2017، قررت المحكمة الجنائية العليا الخامسة في المنامة مرة أخرى تأجيل محاكمة المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان البحريني نبيل رجب في قضية تويتر، في إهانة واضحة للمعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان. وقالت الشبكة العربية لمعلومات حقوق الإنسان، و فرونت لاين ديفندرز، ومركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، ومرصد حماية المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان: إن الاعتقال التعسفي والمضايقات القضائية التي يتعرض لها تهدف فقط لإسكات واحد من المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان من أصحاب الصوت الأعلى في البحرين.

يواجه نبيل رجب، المحتجز تعسفا منذ 13 يونيو/حزيران 2016، سلسلة من الاتهامات قد تصل عقوبتها للسجن 18 عام. ففي قضية “تويتر”، المستمرة منذ 2أبريل/نيسان 2015، اتهم نبيل رجب ب “نشر اخبار كاذبة وشائعات خبيثة عمدًا بهدف تشويه سمعة الدولة” و “نشر شائعات كاذبة في وقت الحرب” و”إهانة هيئة نظامية” و” الإساءة إلى دولة أجنبية [المملكة العربية السعودية]” على خلفية تغريدات تندد بتعذيب المحتجزين في سجن جو في المملكة وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي نجمت عن الغارات الجوية التي يشنها تحالف عسكري بقيادة السعودية في اليمن. ومن المقرر أن تعقد الجلسة الثالثة عشرة في 17 مايو/أيار 2017. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يواجه نبيل رجب اتهامات “بنشر اخبار كاذبة وشائعات خبيثة حول الشئون الداخلية بهدف التشكيك في مكانة الدولة والتأثير سلبًا عليها” في قضية آخرى على خلفية ثلاث مقابلات تلفزيونية أجريت خلال عامي 2015 و 2016 تحدث فيها نبيل رجب عن سجل البحرين الضعيف في مجال حقوق الإنسان. والجلسة القادمة في هذه القضية من المزمع عقدها يوم 3 مايو/أيار 2017.

وصرحت المنظمات الحقوقية: “على الرغم من صدور أمر المحكمة بإطلاق سراحه مؤقتا بعد الفشل في تقديم أي أدلة كافية في قضية تويتر، لا يزال نبيل رجب محتجزًا بشكل تعسفي. فالاحتجاز التعسفي، والحبس الانفرادي، والتأجيلات اللانهائية، ورفض إعطاء التأشيرات للمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية المعنية بحقوق الإنسان، يفسد العملية القضائية. وأضافت المنظمات أن “البحرين تخلف التزاماتها الدولية وتسخر من العدالة “.

ويتم الأن إجراء المزيد من التحقيقات قد تؤدي إلى توجيه المزيد من الاتهامات له، بما في ذلك “بث الأخبار الكاذبة والشائعات الخبيثة في الخارج للإساءة إلى سمعة البلاد”، وذلك على خلفية مقال رأي باسمه نشرته صحيفة نيويورك تايمز في 5 سبتمبر/أيلول 2016، يناقش ظروف حبسه واعتقاله. كما تم استجوابه في 19 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2016، بشأن رسالة نشرت باسمه في صحيفة لوموند الفرنسية حثت باريس وبرلين على “إعادة تقييم علاقتهما مع [الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي] التي تناهض الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان، وتشعل فتيل العنف والتطرف”.

وأضافت المنظمات أيضًا “لقد فشلت النيابة العامة في تقديم أي دليل على ارتكاب نبيل أي جرم، ومع ذلك تم احتجازه لمدة 282 يوما. ولم يتم اعمال قرينة البراءة، حيث يقضي فعليًا عقوبة دون إدانة. ويجب إسقاط التهم المنسوبه له والإفراج عنه فورًا دون قيد أو شرط “.

نبيل رجب، هو المؤسس المشارك ورئيس مركز البحرين لحقوق الإنسان، والمدير المؤسس لمركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، ونائب الأمين العام للاتحاد الدولي لحقوق الإنسان، وعضو اللجنة الاستشارية للشرق الأوسط في هيومن رايتس ووتش.

وأثناء احتجازه يقضى معظم الوقت في الحبس الانفرادي ويحرم من الحصول على الرعاية المناسبة، على الرغم من تأثير ذلك على صحته. المنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية غير قادرة على الوصول إلى نبيل رجب في السجن، ولا يصرح لهم بزيارة البلاد، مما يجعل قيامهم بمراقبة المحاكمة أمر صعب للغاية.

لمزيد من التفاصيل حول القضية، يرجى الإطلاع على بيان الشبكة العربية لمعلومات حقوق الإنسان، فرونت لاين ديفندرز، مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان والمرصد، يرجى الاطلاع على: http://www.gc4hr.org/news/view/1461

Print Friendly